Fall is nearly upon us…Apple Cider Doughnut Muffins

Peekaboo! It's fall!

Okay so immediate disclaimer on this one.  There isn’t any *actual* cider in this recipe.  It uses apple juice concentrate (I used the 100% juice Stop and Shop variety) just to give a subtle apple flavor.  The result was delicious and I would definitely make this recipe again.  Perhaps if I can get my hands on some local cider later into the fall I will make my own syrup from it, but I digress, the muffins.  This is my second post about a breakfast food, which I find ironic because I am absolutely not a morning person and used to rarely eat breakfast at all.  But since my flexible part time job and the end of my schooling allow me to rise a lot later than the rest of the busy world, I have found myself rather enjoying my late morning breakfasts.  These cider doughnut muffins were no exception.

Now I know I will provoke some skepticism from cider doughnut purists who will look at them inquistively. “No greasy brown paper bag?”  they’ll wonder aloud,”Not from an apple orchard?!” they’ll scream, so close to your face spit flies at you like the remnants of a tropical storm, “No cider?!?!” they will bellow from the roof tops with pitchforks and homemade torches.  Okay well, maybe it won’t be that dramatic, but my point is if you are looking an apple cider doughnut, this isn’t it.  But what it IS is a slammin’ interpretation of a cider doughnut as a muffin.  Like its less appreciated but still pretty damn good cousin.  And no frying required.  As for the recipe itself? Easy-peasy, just remember to thaw out the juice concentrate for a little while before you get started, and per almost usual with baking, butter at room temperature (curses, I always forget!)

This muffin has good crumb.

These muffins have got everything you could ask for from a fall treat–cinnamon:check; apple juice: check; brown sugar (okay, not particular to fall really but goes AWESOME with apples): check; and finally the fall-iest spice of them all nutmeg: check.  For all you coffee drinkers out there who are excited because Pumpkin Spice Lattes are making there way back onto coffee shop menus, this muffin is the breakfast food equivalent (especially for those of us not too fond of pumpkin, sorry).  I mean for Christmas’ sake, these damn things are dipped in melted butter and then cinnamon-sugar, are you people on board yet?  Because I might just have to go eat another one.

Here is a link to the recipe found on the blog girl versus dough via Tastespotting.

P.S.  This blog reminded me of the King Arthur Flour website (which I had forgotten about) with its many lovely recipes which I will definitely try to utilize more in the future!

And now, moar pictures.

The lone prep shot, the batter.

Creeper.

Apple-tastic!

That’s all for now folks, happy breakfasting!

2 comments on “Fall is nearly upon us…Apple Cider Doughnut Muffins

  1. -A- says:

    Can we please hang out soon. Thanks. Btw, thanks for the giving the Mets some love! 🙂

  2. Jo Citro says:

    Mmmmmmm. I hear there is an extra bedroom at your house. Maybe I should move in. Grandma sure would be pissed, but it may be worth it.

    All of this is absolutely fabulous.

Leave a Reply

